[Qoo News] New “Higurashi When They Cry” Anime Reveals 2nd PV and October 1 Premiere


The new TV anime adaptation of the murder mysteries video game Higurashi When They Cry (ひぐらしのなく頃に) is confirmed to premiere on 1st October 2020. A new visual, the 2nd PV, additional staff and cast are also revealed.


More cast members from the previous anime will reprise their roles, which include Chafurin as Kuraudo Ooishi, Toru Ohkawa as Jirō Tomitake, Miki Itō as Miyo Takano, and Toshihiko Seki as Kyōsuke Irie.

A manga adaptation by Tomato Akase is also set to launch in Kadokawa’s Young Ace Up on 2nd October.

2nd PV


The story takes place in the fictional village of Hinamizawa (雛見沢) in June 1983. Shortly before then, the main character, Keiichi Maebara, moves to the village and befriends classmates Mion Sonozaki, her twin sister Shion, Rena Ryugu, Rika Furude and Satoko Hojo. Keiichi soon learns of the village’s annual Watanagashi Festival, a celebration to commemorate and give thanks to the local deity Oyashiro. Hinamizawa initially seems calm and peaceful, but shortly before the festival, Keiichi learns that for four consecutive years, people in the village have been killed or have disappeared on the evening of the festival. These crimes remain unsolved and have been named the “Oyashiro Curse” by the local populace.














Staff and Production

Original Story: Ryukishi07 (竜騎士07)/07th Expansion
Director: Keiichiro Kawaguchi (川口 敬一郎)
Series Composition: Naoki Hayashi (ハヤシナオキ)
Character Design: Akio Watanabe (渡辺明夫)
Assistant Director: Takashi Ikehata (池端隆史)
Art Director: Kazuhiro Inoue (井上一宏) from Kusanagi
Background Art Supervision: Saho Yamane (山根左帆) from Kusanagi
Color Design: Arisa Komatsu (小松亜理沙)
Photography Director: Yuichiro Tozawa (戸澤雄一朗) from Graphinica
Editing: Ayako Tan (丹 彩子) from Graphinica
Sound Director: Hiroto Morishita (森下広人)
Sound Effects: Shota Yaso (八十正太) from Swara Pro
Music: Kenji Kawai (川井憲次)
Music Production: Frontier Works
Animation: Passione


■ Keiichi Maebara (前原圭一) – CV: Sōichiro Hoshi (保志総一朗)
■ Rena Ryūgū (竜宮 レナ) – CV: Mai Nakahara (中原 麻衣)
■ Mion & Shion Sonozaki (園崎 魅音 & 詩音) & – CV: Satsuki Yukino (ゆきの さつき)
■ Satoko Hōjō (北条 沙都子) – CV: Mika Kanai (かない みか)
■ Rika Furude (古手 梨花) – CV: Yukari Tamura (田村 ゆかり)
■ Kuraudo Ooishi (大石蔵人) – CV: Chafurin (茶風林)
■ Jirō Tomitake (富竹ジロウ) – CV: Toru Ohkawa (大川 透)
■ Miyo Takano (鷹野三四) – CV: Miki Itō (伊藤美紀)
■ Kyōsuke Irie (入江京介)- CV:Toshihiko Seki (関 俊彦)

Official Site

Official Twitter

N0D0nsJyqWV3fkf7d9XwwdmaPnrc4w0Opa ou7RLuBrsVs0SXKgLtR XPTnEBV49VAY Higurashi When They Cry Mei D-techno Co.,Ltd. Rate: 4.2 Install