Vinland Saga Season 2 Unveils New Trailer, Opening Song, and January 9 Debut


Twin Engine released a new trailer for the second season of the Vinland Saga anime, based on Makoto Yukimura’s manga of the same name.

The anime trailer gave us a look at Thorfinn after the events of the first season, giving us a look at a decrepit and older Thorfinn, questioning his journey and life choices. The anime also previewed the show’s opening theme song, “River” by Anonymouz.

The show also unveiled its cast members, with returning cast such as Yūto Uemura as Thorfinn, Kensho Ono as Canute, Akio Ohtsuka as Thorkell, and Yōji Ueda as Leif Ericson. New cast members joining them this season are Shunsuke Takeuchi as Einar, Mayumi Sako as Arnheid, Fuminori Komatsu as Snake, Yuu Hayashi as Olmar, Taiten Kusunoki as Thorgil, Hideaki Tezuka as Ketil, and Mugihito as Sverkel

Vinland Saga Season 2 is set to premiere on January 9, 2023.

Vinland Saga Season 2 Trailer

vinland saga s2 trailer ss 010
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 09
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 08
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 07
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 06
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 05
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 04
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 03
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 02
vinland saga s2 trailer ss 01

Anonymouz Artist Comments

The artist Anonymouz who sang the opening theme song also left some comments regarding her part in the anime, singing the theme song!

She says that she thought of the song while thinking of Thorfinn’s pain and wanted to envelop that emotion into her work, and hopes everyone can enjoy the song along with the anime!

vinland saga s2 trailer 00 2

About Vinland Saga

Vinland Saga is a historical manga series written by Makoto Yukimura.

The series is based on the Vinland history in an era of Vikings, and the Danish invasion of England and primarily a revenge story focused on Thorfinn, the son go a murdered warrior who joins the same mercenary group that killed his father to exact his revenge.

Vinland Saga’s first season was a 24-episode series animated by Wit Studio with the second season now being handled by MAPPA. The manga has since sold over 7 million copies, and also won the 36th Kodansha Manga Award for Best General Manga, and also won the Grand Prize of the 13th Japan Media Arts Festival.

Vinland Saga

Vinland Saga Season 2 Anime Staff

Original Work: Makoto Yukimura
Director: Shūhei Yabuta
Series Composition: Hiroshi Seko
Music: Yutaka Yamada
Original creator: Makoto Yukimura
Character Design: Takahiko Abiru
Art Director: Izumi Hirabayashi, Kentarō Ōnuki, Yūsuke Takeda
Chief Animation Director: Takahiko Abiru
3D Director: Kōhei Ogawa
Sound Director: Shōji Hata
Animation producer: Hiroya Hasegawa
Editing: Kashiko Kimura
Sound Effects: Takuya Hasegawa
Animation Studio: MAPPA

Vinland Saga Season 2 Anime Cast

■ Thorfinn: CV: Yūto Uemura
■ Canute CV: Kensho Ono
■ Thorkell CV: Akio Ohtsuka
■ Leif Ericson CV: Yōji Ueda
■ Einar CV: Shunsuke Takeuchi
■ Arnheid CV: Mayumi Sako
■ Snake CV: Fuminori Komatsu
■ Olmar CV: Yuu Hayashi
■ Thorgil CV: Taiten Kusunoki
■ Ketil CV: Hideaki Tezuka
■ Sverkel CV: Mugihito

Follow QooApp official Facebook / Twitter / Google News / Reddit to get the latest ACG information!