Tearmoon Empire Anime Gets October 7 Premiere Date


The television anime adaptation of Nozomu Mochitsuki’s Tearmoon Empire light novel series has revealed its second key visual and additional cast members. The anime is also scheduled to premiere on October 7, 2023.

Initially launched on the Shōsetsuka ni Narō website in August 2018, and later published in print by TO Books with illustrations by Gilse, the series follows the selfish princess Mia of the fallen Tearmoon Empire, who faces execution by the guillotine but finds herself back as a twelve-year-old. With a second chance at life, she begins to correct the wrongs that all the empire, including corrupt governance, border troubles, natural calamities, and economic strife. Fear of the guillotine, rather than a true change of heart, motivate Mia’s actions, as it hurt like hell, and Mia hates pain more than work.

The new visual showcases the series’ main characters, including Mia, assembled in a moonlit flower garden. Depicted within the timeline before Mia’s execution, the visual showcases significant characters who share a fate with her, as well as those who harbor issues and concerns. The characters revealed include the low-ranking noble’s daughter Tiona Rudolvon, governing a frontier region, and Rafina Orca Belluga, the student council president at Saint Noel Academy and the duke’s daughter of the Belluga Duchy.

QooApp Tearmoon Empire KV2

As previously announced, Sumire Uesaka plays the protagonist Mia, while Tomori Kusunoki plays Anne Littstein. Additional cast members include Kanon Takao as Tiona, who was previously tormented by other nobles and Mia, and later leads the revolutionary army to crumble the empire. Nao Tōyama plays Rafina, known as “the saint” for her relentless judgment of criminals, who previously supported the revolutionary army.

QooApp Tearmoon Empire 01

Tearmoon Empire Anime Additional Characters

■ Tiona Rudolvon – CV: Kanon Takao

Tiona is a nobleman’s daughter governing the frontier regions of the Tearmoon Empire. She possesses a strong heart that enables her to persevere through adversity without yielding and continues her efforts. Within the Empire, her family’s status is low, and she receives discriminatory treatment from other nobles.

In the previous timeline, these circumstances and being bullied by Mia became her driving force. She took up arms as part of the revolutionary army, leading the Empire to collapse, and was praised by the masses as the Imperial Saint.

QooApp Tearmoon Empire C01

■ Rafina Orca Belluga – CV: Nao Tōyama

Rafina is the student council president at St. Noel Academy, which Mia and other nobles attend, and is also the duchess’s daughter in the Holy Principality of Belluga, where the academy is located. Her personality is brimming with benevolence and a sense of justice. She treats commoners and nobles equally, and her unrelenting judgment against those who have committed crimes has earned her the title of Saint.

In the previous timeline, she deepened her friendship with Sion and Tiona and supported the revolutionary army, causing her to be feared by Mia after her time reversal.

QooApp Tearmoon Empire C02

Tearmoon Empire Anime Staff & Production

Original Work: Tearmoon Empire by Nozomu Mochitsuki (Published by TO Books)
Original Character Design: Gilse
Director: Yūshi Ibe
Series Composition: Deko Akao
Character Design/Chief Animation Director: Mai Otsuka
Sub-character Design: Arisa Fujii (Chiptune)
Prop Design: Shoko Naoki
Art Director: Hideto Nakahara
Art Setting: Tomoyasu Fujise (Chiptune)
Color Design: Manami Yamaguchi
Director of Photography: Yūko Shintani
2D Works: Chiptune
3D Director: Keiichi Eda (Chiptune)
Editor: Yūji Kondō (REAL-T)
Sound Director: Toshiki Kameyama
Sound Production: Bit Groove Promotion
Music: Kōji Fujimoto (Sus4 Inc.)
Music Production: King Records
Animation Production: SILVER LINK

Tearmoon Empire Anime Cast

■ Mia Luna Tearmoon – CV: Sumire Uesaka
■ Tiona Rudolvon – CV: Kanon Takao
■ Rafina Orca Belluga – CV: Nao Tōyama
■ Sion Sol Sunkland – CV: Shun Horie
■ Anne Littstein – CV: Tomori Kusunoki
■ Abel Remno – CV: Yoshitsugu Matsuoka
■ Ludwig Hewitt – CV: Yuichiro Umehara

Follow QooApp’s official Facebook / Twitter / Google News / Reddit/ Youtube for the latest ACG information!